Leicester City Football Club

Often called “The Foxes”, Leicester City Football Club is currently the reigning champions in the Premier League. An English-trained football club formed at King Power Stadium in Leicester. When the team was promoted as champions in the Football League Champions it ignited them to return to the top flight of English football after a decade.  Founded in 1884 with a club name “Leicester Fosse”, the club plays near the Fosse Road before. In 1891 the club moved to Filbert Street wherein they were elected to the Football League in 1894 and was named Leicester City in the year 1919. Whilst in 2002, the club transferred to the nearby Walker Stadium after the ownership was changed in 2011.

In the 2015-2016 Premier League, Leicester won their first ever top-level football championship which makes them the reigning champion in this current year. Leicester is one of the six clubs that won the Premier League since it was begun in 1992. According to some news, Leicester’s win was described as one of the greatest sporting upset or the best football fantasy as others call it. In all of Leicester’s history, they have spent all except for one season that’s within the top two tiers of English Football.

The club has been included as one of the FA Cup finalists four times in the years 1948-49, 1960-61, 1962-63, and 1968-69. This fact is based on the tournament record for the teams that has most defeats in the final without winning the competition. Leicester won the FA Community Shield in 1971, whilst they were runners-up in 2016.